Suffocating

 I feel like I’m suffocating

Gasping for air

Drowning in my own despair

Stuck in the thick of dryness

 

The face in the mirror

Turning bluer and bluer

Feeling like time is running out

The walls are closing in around me

 

One hand on my throat

One hand outstretched

Calling for help

Hope that never comes

 

I feel myself slipping

Further into a dark abyss

Fading from this time

Struggling to stay put

 

Scratching at my throat

Hoping to clear my airway

To no avail

My eyes are growing heavy

 

Feel my spirit slipping away

Darkness is upon me

The light is growing dimmer

It seems like a dream

 

Thickness too surreal

Still all I know

I feel like I’m suffocating

Grasping for the air of life

 

~SMH~

Leave a Reply

