Cannot Help but Wonder

I cannot help but wonder
Sitting here thinking of you
Would it really matter
The things that I have to say
Long lost on my tongue
Words I couldn’t bear to convey

I cannot help but wonder
If what you felt was true
When push came to shove
You were so easily removed

I cannot help but wonder
Was it all just a dream
Deeply in lasting love
Or hidden in lusting for all the above

I cannot help but wonder
We’re still so deeply attached
Even after all these years
Friends never detached

I cannot help but wonder
Do you still think of me
In the moments I can’t help but to think of you
Did you really fall
Heads over heels
This was truth as I was told

Still there’s that elephant between us
Now with a saddle upon his back
So I cannot help but wonder
Whose holding on more
Is it you to me
Or me to you
We keep coming back
Even after all these years

I cannot help but wonder
If I said what was on my heart
Would you even hear the words
Or ignore them like your faults

I know it is a hopeless dream
Fading like the dark into day
Still I cannot help but wonder
What would you say
If I spoke those words
The ones we never brought ourselves to say

Copyright 2013 ~smh~

Leave a Reply

