Say Yes

So, apparently this has been the week for “deep thoughts”. Yes, prepare yourselves, because that means another lengthy post.

About a week ago I made a couple of life altering choices. Most know this because of my status updates and some know the exact decisions made. When I made the biggest decision of all, I was so very excited. I mean, truly elated. I know so deeply that it is the right decision and I have this uncontrollable, passionate, “no word for it” emotion. I mean, to be honest, seeing where this path goes…well, it ranks right up there with seeing the Dawn of the Planet of the Apes in July. Yeah, that’s how serious I am about this decision.

Anyway, as the week has continued and I’ve been doing the things necessary to get the ball rolling, well, I’ve run into some bumps. Now, to show you how much I’ve grown..I’m calling them bumps. The old princess would have called them walls and said forget it, it wasn’t meant to be. There is a huge part of me that still wants to do this. The mistakes of the past are making it a little bit more difficult than anticipated. I knew there were going to be some blocks, but I wasn’t prepared for this.

So, as I was working out today, frustrated and pondering if I can really go through all of this and just have it fail, I started hearing the song by Michelle Williams, “Say yes”. Now, first off, the princess listens to rock and country. Anything else, well there are very few songs that make it through. However, this song is about Jesus. Now, before you think…oh, for the love, hear me out.

Most that know me know that though I believe wholeheartedly in the man above, truth be told, we’re not always on speaking terms. Alas, that is a conversation for another day. Now, back to my point. In this song are the lyrics, “When Jesus says yes, nobody can say no. When Jesus says yes, nobody can say no.” Guess what kept playing in my head as I was trying to talk myself into giving up.

Now, I thought about this for a moment, because like I said the Man and I, well, you’d probably have better luck getting me in a pair of red cowboy boots most days; especially, when I’m frustrated and feeling defeated. It made me think about the way that I was feeling when I initially made this decision, though. I was over elated and it was a feeling that I have never felt before. I mean that “without a doubt this is right” feeling. Do I think that was the Man above talking to me? Well, I stay off of religious soap boxes. Never discuss politics and religion in polite company. I do believe that it goes to say something about the choices we make.

We often make decisions that we have these said feelings about and as soon as we hit bumps we start doubting and trying to convince ourselves that it probably isn’t worth the hassle. Some of us, we start feeling defeated. Eventually, we even get to the point where we say forget it, even though somewhere inside there is a voice telling us not to give up. God, Jesus, Buddha, yourself, or whoever. Your belief determines the owner of that voice, but in the end it all says the same…something or someone wants you to hold on. Especially, if we had that “no word for it” passion that we made the right decision.

So, now that I’ve already rambled forever. I know, I know, deal with it. My point is simple, if you have that decision or that thing that you are absolutely passionately elated about…don’t let the road blocks keep you from it. If something says yes, nobody can say no. It’s all up to you, you are in control. (I’ve really got to stop quoting songs).

Live, laugh, love, and let it ride, my darlins.

Leave a Reply

